## Notification of Political Groups of the Borough Council

Members are advised that the Proper Officer has received notification, under the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, of the operation of six political groups on the Council namely:-

NAME & NUMBER OF MEMBERS	DESIGNATED LEADER	DESIGNATED DEPUTY LEADER
LABOUR	ELIZABETH SHENTON	TERRY TURNER
CONSERVATIVE	SIMON TAGG	STEPHEN SWEENEY
LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	MARION REDDISH	IAN WILKES
NEWCASTLE INDEPENDENT GROUP	DERRICK HUCKFIELD	DAVID WOOLLEY
UKIP	KENNETH OWEN	DAVID HARPER
BOROUGH INDEPENDENT GROUP	BERT PROCTOR	WENSLIE NAYLON

## **Representation of Political Groups in Committees and Appointment of Members to Committees**

		LABOUR	CONSERVATIVE	LIB DEM	UKIP	NEWCASTLE INDEPENDENT GROUP	BOROUGH INDEPENDENT GROUP
Audit &	7	3	3	0	0	0	1
Standards							
		Sarah Pickup	John Cooper				Simon White
		Sylvia Dymond	Paul Waring				
		Sandra Hambleton	Lucinda Wing				
Substitutes		3	3	0	0	0	1
		Lionel Burch	Mark Holland				Bert Proctor
			Stephen Sweeney				
	Ir	ndependent Member		PHILL BL	JTTERS		

Employees Consultative	7	3	3	0	0	1	0
		Elizabeth Shenton	John Cooper			Derrick Huckfield	
		Ann Beech	Stephen Sweeney				
		Ruth Wright	David Loades				
Substitutes		3	3	0	0	1	0
		Terry Turner	Trevor Johnson			David Woolley	
			Simon Tagg				
Staffing	11	5	4	0	0	1	1
Committee							
		Sandra Hambleton	Simon Tagg			David Woolley	Bert Proctor
		Tony Eagles	Avril Frankish				
		Tony Kearon	Mark Holland				
		Kyle Robinson	Stephen Sweeney				
		Lionel Burch					
Substitutes	11	5	4	0	0	1	1
		Terry Turner	David Loades			Derrick Huckfield	Margaret Astle
			Chloe Mancey				
Licensing	15	7	5	1	1	0	1
Licensing	15	7 Trevor Hambleton	<b>5</b> Avril Frankish	<b>1</b> Marion Reddish	<b>1</b> David Harper	0	1 Simon White
Licensing	15				•	0	-
Licensing	15	Trevor Hambleton	Avril Frankish		•	0	-
Licensing	15	Trevor Hambleton Joan Winfield	Avril Frankish Trevor Johnson		•	0	-
Licensing	15	Trevor Hambleton Joan Winfield Sandra Simpson	Avril Frankish Trevor Johnson Chloe Mancey		•	0	
Licensing	15	Trevor Hambleton Joan Winfield Sandra Simpson John Williams	Avril Frankish Trevor Johnson Chloe Mancey Andrew Parker		•	0	-
Licensing	15	Trevor Hambleton Joan Winfield Sandra Simpson John Williams Chris Spence	Avril Frankish Trevor Johnson Chloe Mancey Andrew Parker		•	0	-
Licensing	15	Trevor Hambleton Joan Winfield Sandra Simpson John Williams Chris Spence Dave Jones	Avril Frankish Trevor Johnson Chloe Mancey Andrew Parker		•	0	

		Gill Williams	Paul Northcott				
Constitution and Member Support WG	7	2	1	1	1	1	1
		Terry Turner Elizabeth Shenton	Mark Holland	June Walklate	Ken Owen	Derrick Huckfield	Bert Proctor
Substitutes	7	2	1	4		4	
Substitutes		Tony Kearon	Simon Tagg	Marion Reddish	David Harper	David Woolley	Wenslie Naylon
Conservation	5	2	2	0	0	0	1
Advisory		Allison Gardner	Julie Cooper				Wenslie Naylon
		Terry Turner	Trevor Johnson	_		-	
Substitutes	5	2 David Allport	2 Stephen Sweeney	0	0	0	Gary White

Planning	16	7	6	1	0	0	2
		Chris Spence	Andrew Fear	Marion Reddish			Bert Proctor
		Sandra Hambleton	Gill Heesom				Gary White
		Ruth Wright	Paul Northcott				
		Silvia Burgess	Barry Panter				
		John Williams	Stephen Sweeney				
		Gill Williams	Simon Tagg				
		Sandra Simpson					
<u> </u>	- 10		•			•	
Substitutes	16	7	6	1	0	0	2
		Joan Winfield	Mark Holland	lan Wilkes			Wenslie Naylon
		Terry Turner	David Loades				
		Sarah Pickup	Ian Matthews				
Public Protection	13	6	5	1	0	0	1
		Sandra Hambleton	Laura Bloor	June Walklate			Gary White
		Mark Olszewski	Linda Hailstones				
		Sylvia Dymond	Peter Hailstones				
		Dave Allport	lan Matthews				
		Lionel Burch	John Tagg				
		Trevor Hambleton	00				
Substitutes	13	6	5	1	0	0	1
		Tony Kearon	Trevor Johnson	Marion Reddish			Reg Bailey
		Chris Spence	Paul Waring				

Health & Well Being Scrutiny	11	5	4	1	0	0	1
		Ruth Wright	Laura Bloor	lan Wilkes			Wenslie Naylon
		Lionel Burch	Linda Hailstones				
		Dave Jones	David Loades				
		Laura Dillon	Paul Northcott				
		Allison Gardner					
Substitutes	11	5	4	1	0	0	1
		Chris Spence	Stephen Sweeney	June Walklate			Margaret Astle
		Sandra Hambleton	Mark Holland				
Active & Cohesive Scrutiny	11	5	4	0	0	1	1
		Gill Williams	Julie Cooper			David Woolley	Reg Bailey
		Joan Winfield	Avril Frankish				
		Dave Allport	Gill Heesom				
		Tony Eagles	John Tagg				
		Mike Stubbs					
Substitutes	11	5	4	0	0	1	1
		Lionel Burch	Stephen Sweeney			Derrick Huckfield	Simon White
		Sandra Simpson	Simon Tagg				
			Mark Holland				

Economic Development Scrutiny Committee	11	5	4	0	1	0	1
		Mark Olszewski	Mark Holland		Ken Owen		Reg Bailey
		Chris Spence	David Loades				
		Gill Williams	Ian Matthews				
		Allison Gardner	Paul Northcott				
		Dave Allport					
Substitutes	11	5	4	0	1	0	1
		Gareth Snell	Stephen Sweeney		David Harper		Bert Proctor
		Mike Stubbs	Simon Tagg				
			Lucinda Wing				
Cleaner, Greener & Safer Scrutiny Committee	11	5	4	1	0	0	1
		Silvia Burgess	Stephen Sweeney	Marion Reddish			Wenslie Naylon
		Laura Dillon	Peter Hailstones				
		Gill Williams	Chloe Mancey				
		Dave Jones	Barry Panter				
		Gareth Snell					
Substitutes	11	5	4	1	0	0	1
		Joan Winfield	John Cooper	June Walklate			Margaret Astle
		Mark Olszewski	Simon Tagg				
			Mark Holland				

Finance, Resources and Partnerships Scrutiny	11	5	4	1	0	0	1
		Joan Winfield	Andrew Fear	lan Wilkes			Bert Proctor
		Chris Spence	Avril Frankish				
		Mike Stubbs	Simon Tagg				
		Sarah Pickup	Paul Waring				
		Ruth Wright					
Substitutes	11	5	4	1	0	0	1
		Trevor Hambleton	Stephen Sweeney	June Walklate			Gary White
		Gareth Snell	Mark Holland				
			David Loades				
L							

## Appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees (in accordance with Standing Order 46(1)

Members are advised of the following nominations for the positions of Chair and Vice-Chair for the various Committees of the Council. Where there are two nominations (**highlighted in bold**), the Council must vote on which Member to appoint:-

COMMITTEE	CHAIR	VICE-CHAIR
Audit & Standards	SARAH PICKUP	SYLVIA DYMOND
Conservation Advisory	WENSLIE NAYLON	ALLISON GARDNER
Employees Consultative	PORTFOLIO HOLDER	NO NOMINATION REQUIRED
Grants Assessment	PORTFOLIO HOLDER	NO NOMINATION REQUIRED
Licensing	TREVOR HAMBLETON	JOAN WINFIELD
Planning	BERT PROCTOR	CHRIS SPENCE
		ANDREW FEAR
Public Protection	SANDRA HAMBLETON	GARY WHITE
Staffing Committee	SANDRA HAMBLETON	NO NOMINATION REQUIRED
Health & Well Being Scrutiny	RUTH WRIGHT	LIONEL BURCH

Active & Cohesive Communities SC	GILL WILLIAMS	REG BAILEY
Cleaner, Greener & Safer Communities SC	WENSLIE NAYLON	SYLVIA BURGESS STEPHEN SWEENEY
Economic Development & Enterprise SC	MARK OLSZEWSKI MARK HOLLAND	DAVID ALLPORT
Finance, Resources and Partnerships SC	JOAN WINFIELD PAUL WARING	CHRIS SPENCE
Constitution and Member Support Working Group	PORTFOLIO HOLDER FOR MEMBER SUPPORT	NO NOMINATION REQUIRED
MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR NOMINATIO	NS	
NOMINATION FOR MAYOR	CLLR SIMON WHITE	-
NOMINATION FOR DEPUTY MAYOR	CLLR GILL HEESOM	-